Passion for REAL food.

Probably what I miss most about Montreal….Even though I make a pretty good reproduction!  Sometimes it’s just the availability of stuff…To make stuff. Food matters, in Montreal..I mean REAL food. Not just one particular aspect either…It’s HOW it’s prepared, WHAT it looks like, The taste. texture, presentation…Even the most rudimentary kitchen will produce beauty for the senses, if there’s a passion for it. Montreal, at times, like now…I miss your passion for food, because that’s where “IT” was born…FOR ME. (Audible sigh).
Photo: Probably what I miss most about Montreal....Even though I make a pretty good reproduction! Sometimes it's just the availability of stuff...To make stuff. Food matters, in Montreal..I mean REAL food. Not just one particular aspect either...It's HOW it's prepared, WHAT it looks like, The taste. texture, presentation...Even the most rudimentary kitchen will produce beauty for the senses, if there's a passion for it. Montreal, at times, like now...I miss your passion for food, because that's where "IT" was born...FOR ME. (Audible sigh).
The Montreal bagel…Second to no one.
Image
The Pignolata: A savory swirl of red sauce, cheese, salametti and onions..This is the version I used to make at
Pains & Delices Luigi
1276 Av Dollard, Lasalle
Image
Praline and Nutella, creme custard buche…
Image
Chocolate Ganache torte…
Image
Ridiculously overdressed 2 berry shortcake..
Image
Rustique rye
Image
Croissants du jour
Image
Profiterole, with raspberry whipped Chantilly.
Image
Twice baked, stuffed taters
Image
Oma Lite’s apfel strudel…Sigh.
Image
Probably my favorite bread to look at…Just for it’s appeal: I love seeing the gluten strands, stretched to house the marvelous air holes in this classic Rustic white..

Leave a comment