An Alzheimer moment…

Happy birthday , pops. You’re 83 today. I wish I could have made you a cake. I wish that you could know how much I miss you. Your Britishness, your wordy responses to questions asked, requiring monosyllabic answers. I miss taking you fishing , just dad and guide. I miss your scrambled eggs, with the overabundance of fresh parsley every Sunday morning before church. I miss hearing your power tools , as you tackle another woodworking creation. Most of all, I miss the conversations about things heavenward. Your beliefs never wavered, your Faith never waned. You led by example, and I can only now begin to appreciate your good qualities. I hope that our father , who art in heaven can let you know how much you are loved and appreciated. I can see that you’re in good hands, and I am thankful for that. I know that mom must be , as well, in her homeon high. I love you , daddy….

Dad 83rd

One thought on “An Alzheimer moment…

Leave a Reply

