Hand mixed, hand laminated , hand shaped , heck, “HANDS ON” croissants, with levain of course!

ImageSometimes when I bake, I forget how much joy that I derive out of doing the deed entirely by hand, from start to finish.  I have developed some online friendships with other dohheads:  (Barbara, Jeremy,Elvira, Daniel….), they know just how much fulfillment is derived out of fashioning stuff by hand. 2 days ago, I had some leftover starter, after my WW country levain dough had been made, so I decided to make some laminated dough. Everything into a large mixing bowl: The starter (firm), cut into chunks, the flour, and a pinch of yeast tossed in together, and blended. Some  buttemilk and water then whisked. in, and stirred into a shaggy mass. Salt was deposited atop the pile, and a 30 minute rest period ensued. Following that, I  literally squeezed the contents of the bowl together for about a minute, and just left it, for an hour. After the 60 minute respite, I shaped the mass into a rectangle, and chilled it overnight. Yesterday, I roiled it out, incorporated my butter, and put in 2 double turns, and ended with a single.  The dough was again chilled overnight, and was rolled out last eve, shaped into croissants, and proofed for 3 hours at room temp. I was most pleased with the result:  Decent layering, with the WW flour, exceptional flavor (buttermilk, levain and time) , and good volume. The crumb is feathery and varied, very levain, with a noticeable tang….The bottom line once again was when you need a little pick me up, do it by hand, and take the time to reconnect with your inner dohhead! ImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

