An apple blossoms in January.

Image

I know, it’s a lie. The Apple trees are standing dormant, vigilantly braving the howling North winds of the winter solstice. The only blossoming is taking place in my mind’s kitchen, at least for this foodie. My sweetheart told me a tale, the other day, about a childhood memory of a favorite food. She vocalized a memory of a tender baked apple, all snugly ensconced in a pastry case, and sprinkled with brown sugar streusel.. She recalled the smell of cinnamon and nutmeg, and buttery perfume licking at her nostrils, as she inhaled the first bite..Immediately , I planned a little surprise for her. It is what I love to do. It doesn’t matter if I have to walk in the rain to obtain ingredients. I knew that there would be an excellent chance that I would be met with moans of approval, whilst the projected desserty items were being devoured. Yesterday, we purchased some honeycrisp apples. They have a nice crisp texture, and hold up well in cooking. I surmised that the fist-sized, tasty units would look perfect in my Diabetic-friendly pastry cases. I cored and peeled the apples, and placed them in a bowl of acidulated ,(lemony) water . The pastry recipe is as follows:

250g Red Fife WW organic flour

50G flaxseed (milled)

100g coconut oil, chunked

50g butter (cold, and chunked)

pinch of salt

1 egg

25g Xylitol, or sugar

75g cold water

splash of vanilla

___________________________

Blend flour, dries and fats together, until no lumps remain. Mix egg with water, and add all at once. Mix till just l blended. Flatten, cover with plastic wrap, and chill for one hour. Cut into 4 pieces, knead for 15 seconds to warm dough slightly.  Roll outi nto a 10″ circle. Using a decorative pastry cutter, (I didn’t , so….Do as I say, not as I do!!) trim edges, whilst scalloping borders.  Place some cake crumbs, or cookie crumbs in the middle of the circle. (This will help absorb excess juice from the apples) Place apple in center, on top of crumbs, and wet outer rim of circle. Bring the circle together , like an envelope. The folds will seal on their own. Brush the now encased apples with egg wash, and sprinkle with streusel, or more caked crumbs…It doesn’t matter. Bake for 30-40 minutes @ 360F, or until golden, and inside of blossom is 170F.. That’s my rule of thumb:  It means a perfectly cooked apple, not mushy, but tender and complimenting the crust…I must admit, all we were missing was a little Anglaise, or some lemon curd nappeed over top of these fragrant little dumplings of amorous intent!!

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

