A wedding bread story.

A wedding bread story.

P8180013 

About 6 weeks  ago, a young man  came into the bakery.  He was well dressed, and   had a pleasant demeanor.  He had a query:   Could I make a Ukrainian wedding bread for his fiancee?  Now, I am not the fount of all yeasted consumables, and don’t profess  to know all there is to know , about all things baked so…..I was intrigued.  “Bring me a  photo”, I asked, “and I’ll make it for you”.  A couple of hours  later, the same pleasant demeanored gentleman returned  with an equally pleasant demanored and pleasant looking woman who told me her name was “Yuliya”, and produced a very interesting looking photo of a baked yummy  called a “Korovai”.   “Could I make this?” she asked.  I responded   that   I would be happy  to do it.  The couple returned a couple of weeks later, and I produced a sample of what the bread would TASTE like. It was met with approval, and we confirmed the pickup for August 19, a day before the big day.   It was a joy to make, as I had never undertaken one such as this before, and I hope to make  many more in the future…..Here  is the recipe, and the photos of the process, as well as the finished result.  All told, I was quite happy  with my first KOROVAI!Top.bmp

 

 

 

  • P8170001
  •  

  • P8170002
  •  

  • P8170004
  •  

  • P8170005
  •  

  • P8170006
P8170006

 

I made a starter the day before….For flavor, along with the other ingredients….

 

 

 

  • P8180007
  •  

  • P8180008
P8180008

 

 

 

 The finished , shaped dough…In the pan, with a parchment collar.

  • P8180010
  •  

  • P8180011
  •  

  • P8180012
P8180012

 The decorations:  A pair of doves, a pair of intertwined hearts, and a couple of daisies, or sunflowers…

 

  • P8180013
  •  

  • P8180016
  •  

  • P8180018
P8180018

  P8180017

 

 

The finished product, it smelled wonderful!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “A wedding bread story.

Leave a Reply

